urxvt Rainbow

I have used gnome-terminal and terminator, and they are nice. But they are big and bulky. urxvt is nice and small, but it has an ugly default color scheme for at least Fedora 12 and Ubuntu 9.10.
So I wanted to start using urxvt because it seems smaller and faster, but it doesn’t have any menu structure to speak of to make it simple for me to edit the color scheme. Which is fine, it just means I have to find out where the settings are located.

So after a while of looking around (there is no ~/.urxvt or ~/.rxvt or anything like it) I found out that it uses ~/.Xdefaults.
After that it’s just a matter of looking at man urxvt, here or at urxvt --help to see what options you have available.

As a result I am now using part of the example I found for Arch Linux:

URxvt.background: black
URxvt.foreground: white
URxvt.cursorColor: green
URxvt.underlineColor: yellow
Leave a Reply

