Higher Resolution in Fedora 11 with proprietary NVidia Drivers

Ugh… I have been screwing around with this since the beginning of time… Or at least since I installed Fedora for the so-manieth time. Finally though I found out what I had to do.

Following this guide, I was able to easily and correctly install the drivers. I used to build them myself, but that got me worse results then anything.
To sum up, though:

# switch to super user (root)
su

# install rpmfusion repository
rpm -Uvh \http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm \
http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm

# install the driver (I have an i686 pc, you might need a different architecture, like 64_32 or something similar)
yum install kmod-nvidia xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs.i586

# reboot to make changed take effect
reboot

This only got me a 1024×768 resolution, though… Which pissed me off…

I started looking around the internet for a way to fix it in the xorg.conf itself, which I’d done on Fedora 9 before, but didn’t remember how (the reason I’m writing this right now), but didn’t actually find what I was looking for.

In the end I found 2 supposed fixes, one added a Modes option to the “Display” section of the “Screen” section, and another was to add a DisplaySize option to the “Monitor” section.
Well, I found out I needed both, so I added DisplaySize 1280 1024 to the “Monitor” section and Modes "1280x1024" to the “Display” subsection of the “Screen” section.

Now it’s working again, running at 1280×1024 with screen compositing (so I can run gnome-do with docky theme, which I’m trying out for a while).

Leave a Reply

