My custom RDP script

I have a crazy situation. I work at a .Net company, but my installed OS is Linux (Ubuntu Jaunty atm). This is ok though, I asked my boss first, because we use Remote Desktop to do almost all actual work.
Now we move around from time to time. So sometimes I have a different printer I need to share with the server. And since I also want to share a single folder with the server (not my entire filesystem like the TerminalServer client would like), so I decided to write a bash script to help me decide where I am.

startremote.sh:

#!/bin/bash

# Ask where we are, since we don't know where we might end up we add 'other'
# which will default to no extra parameters
srem_WL=$(zenity --list --text="Were Are You?" --radiolist --column="Pick" --column="Locations" TRUE location1 FALSE location2 FALSE other)

# Only do something if cancel wasn't pressed
if [ -n "$srem_WL" ]; then

# The user on the server, I use $USER because I know that on this PC I'll
# always be logged in under the same name as on the server
srem_usr=$USER

# The IP address of the server
srem_ip=0.0.0.0

# The size I want my screen to be
# I add the -g here because one might want fullscreen (with -f)
srem_geo="-g 1910x1120"

# The shares I want to send along
srem_share="-r disk:ShareName=/path/to/some/share"

# The start of my execute command
srem_ex="rdesktop $srem_geo $srem_share"

if [ -n $srem_WL ]; then
# Here we define the configuration differences for each location
case $srem_WL in
location1)
srem_ex+=" -r printer:MyPrinterForLocation1"
;;
location2)
srem_ex+=" -r printer:MyPrinterForLocation2"
;;
esac
# Since other has not been added to the case list it won't add anything
fi

# The end of our execute command
srem_ex+=" -u $srem_usr $srem_up"

# EXECUTE
$srem_ex
fi

You could of course also always share both printers, rdesktop won’t complain if it isn’t connected, but I’m always looking for stuff to program. And this way you can kind-of create different profiles for different locations.

Leave a Reply

