Zenwalk: Logitech Quickcam Pro for Notebooks

After days of searching and dead end results I have finally been able to install my Logitech Quickcam Pro for Notebooks in Zenwalk.
It is surprising what kind of (old) junk you have to go through (like qc-usb, pwc and gspca) to find out that there is actually a universal driver that is integrated in most modern linux kernels.

So, today I finally found out that UVC is the way to go for my 0x46d:0x991 webcam. I checked compatibilities here.
If you’re not quite sure which camera exactly you have you can always check by opening a terminal and typing:

/sbin/lsusb

Which will result in all devices that are hooked up to your USB hubs to be listed. This would be my webcam, and yours most likely would be similar:

Bus 005 Device 002: ID 046d:0991 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro for Notebooks

if you take a look at this line you will see the name and the ID of your webcam.

All I had to do was download the uvc drivers from here, and then type:

tar -xzvf uvcvideo-5ba3bf58b52d.tar.gz
cd uvcvideo-5ba3bf58b52d
make
su
[password]
make install
modprobe uvcvideo

after which I saw that I finally had a /dev/video0 file, meaning succes!

Skype did not yet respond to it though, so I edited my /etc/rc.d/rc.modules file to modprobe uvcvideo every time zenwalk starts and I rebooted, and it seems to work fine now, Skype finds it and shows an image when I press test which even moves.

You might need to install the kernel source packages for this to work, you can find these with netpkg, called kernelsource. I’ve tried 3 other drivers before finding this one so it got a bit messy in the end.

Leave a Reply

