Zenwalk: Intel 82801G NIC

I have recently made a switch from Fedora to Zenwalk 5.2 Linux and today I got my internet connection (YAY).

Turned on my computer and to my surprise Zenwalk didn’t recognize my ethernet card (an Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) LAN Controller, as I found out by starting an old Live Fedora cd I still had lying around, though later I found out I could have used the command ‘lspci -v’ aswell).

I looked around a little and found out I had to start the mii and e100 modules in order to get it working, which worked, but then I still needed them to be loaded at startup.
This time around for as much and as long as I can I want to do thing right, I don’t want this linux ending up the same way that my Ubuntu has and my Fedora had where I didn’t know what was installed where or how.

Looking around a little I found out that you should edit the file /etc/rc.d/rc.modules to include these 2 modules at startup.

So, if you’re having this same trouble that I’m having, all you need to do is edit the /etc/rc.d/rc.modules file:

su[enter password]vi /etc/rc.d/rc.modules

(I use vi but you can of course use any editor you like)

and then add or uncomment the lines:

/sbin/modprobe e100/sbin/modprobe mii

And that should get it working again for you.

One response to “Zenwalk: Intel 82801G NIC

  1. Thank you so much for this. I have been scratching my head (and other things) trying to find a solution for this for days. Now I can enjoy Zen.

Leave a Reply

